Artist: Greenville Native, Don Mong
The original Greenville City park was formed from a purchase of land from the Meeker estate in 1915. The patriarch of the Meeker family was Judge David Meeker [1827-1896]. Son, Frank Meeker [1858-1933], sold the land to the city. Over the years additional land was donated by community minded citizens or funds were donated towards more land to be purchased. This card illustrates some of the park’s unique features, the stone bridge that was rebuilt by the local Rotary Club, a lagoon, and one of the stockade replicas.